Monday, April 23, 2007

Donkey Kong

In this story from 1983, Donkey Kong escapes from the zoo, and it's up to Mario to get him back.
This album includes the songs Donkey Kong Theme, No More Zoo for You, The Climber, On Top of the World, Jump Up, Mario Delivers, and Donkey Kong Theme (Reprise), as well as a cheesy accent from the guy playing Mario. The songs are all mixed in with the story though, so the only track break is between sides. I think you'll enjoy this one!

Click here or here or here to download!

Mr. T in "The Dilemma of the Double-Edged Dagger"

Here's a story from 1984 taken from the Mr. T cartoon show where he gets accused of stealing a priceless Aztec dagger, leaving the kids to do most of the work. He does come in at the end and kicks some T butt though!

This is just the record. I might scan in the book later if I get the chance. Hope you like it!

Click here or here or here or here to download!

Wednesday, April 18, 2007

Creativity starring Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids

Here's another album featuring Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids. Unfortunately this isn't an album of songs. It almost sounds like our friends at Kid Stuff Records simply took the audio from an episode of the cartoon and stuck it on a record. But they'd never be cheap enough to do that, would they?

Click here or here or here or here to download!

Tuesday, April 17, 2007

Rainbow Brite: Paint a Rainbow in Your Heart

Here's more fun from Kids Music Fan from Boston!

Here's the track list:
  1. Color Symphony
  2. Paint a Rainbow
  3. Prismatism
  4. Rainbow Inside
  5. Rainbow Land
  6. Starlite Rainbow Brite
  7. The Pits
  8. Twink of an Eye
  9. Bink Bonk
  10. Friendship

Click here or here or here to download!

And here's some songs from the movie "Rainbow Brite and the Star Stealer". Thanks again KMFfB!

Click here to download!

Thursday, April 12, 2007

The Fabulous Beats Go Country Style!

I'm out of town right now and don't have much time at this computer, but I prepped this one to give you guys something new on the blog.

Here's an odd album from 1964 featuring the Fabulous Beats singing a number of country songs in the style of the Beatles. Is it good? I don't know, but it sure is different!

Here's the track list:
  1. Let Me Be the One
  2. There She Goes
  3. Walkin' After Midnight
  4. Lonely Street
  5. Release Me
  6. Don't Let the Stars Get in Your Eyes
  7. Am I That Easy to Forget
  8. Send Me the Pillow That You Dream On
  9. Just Out of Reach
  10. Above and Beyond
Click here or here or here to download!

Monday, April 02, 2007

Clyde & Phyllis: A Musical Fantasy About the World's First Guitar Playing Elephant

I'm concluding my kids records in space series with what must be one of the all-out craziest Golden Records I've ever heard! As you can gather from the title, Clyde is an elephant that can play guitar with his trunk. He's in love with Phyllis, but their love is doomed because Phyllis is an ant. Depressed, Clyde volunteers to be an astronaut and is shot into space where he lands on the moon. At first the Man in the Moon wants to eat Clyde, but after Clyde plays and sings for him, he changes his mind. When he hears Clyde's tale of woe, he suggests that Clyde and Phyllis live in space together because they'd both be weightless and Clyde couldn't accidentally crush little Phyllis. So they both live happily ever after in space. I told you it was crazy! Even the cover by Joe Oriolo is psychodelically bizarre!

The songs on the album have a very distinct bubblegum sound to them. In fact, Clyde's voice reminds me a lot of Ron Dante (lead singer for the Archies), but Dante didn't do any work for Golden Records that I'm aware of. Anyway, bask in the way-outness of Clyde and Phyllis!

Here's the track list (divided somewhat arbitrarily since the songs and the story intermingle) :
  1. Hello! My Name Is Clyde
  2. There Was a Zoo
  3. The Sad Love Affair of Clyde and Phyllis
  4. Poor Old Clyde
  5. I'm Off to Cape Kennedy
  6. A Tune About the Moon
  7. Wake Up Clyde! I've Got Good News
  8. We'll Float in Space Together
Click here or here or here to download!