Friday, March 05, 2010

Happiness is a Peanuts Album! Songs from the Off-Broadway Musical "You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown"

You've heard a few different versions of songs from "You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown", on this blog, but this one is special to me because it's the first version of the songs I heard when I was a kid. You've only got two people doing the singing duties here, but they still do quite a nice job. Hope you like it!

Here's the track list:
  1. You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown
  2. Little Known Facts
  3. Suppertime
  4. My Blanket and Me
  5. Charlie Brown's Kite
  6. The Baseball Game
  7. Snoopy
  8. Schroeder
  9. Doctor Lucy
  10. Happiness
Click here to download!

Wednesday, March 03, 2010

Bob Sings - Bob McGrath

Most people know Bob McGrath from his regular gig on a certain street we all know (even though we constantly have to ask directions on how to get there), but this album has an entirely different lineup of songs. There's some old-timey classics, tunes from "The Sound of Music", and even a few Stevie Wonder songs to be found here. I also could have done without hearing Bob singing "Muskrat Love". For some reason, it sounds even dirtier when you hear HIM sing it!

Bob sings a number of these songs accompanied by kids, and the funny thing about that is that he seems to keep pitching the songs higher and higher, until the poor kids have to squeak to keep up with his flawless tenor voice. By the way, one of those kids was Danielle Brisbois, who ended up doing some acting as well, including playing Archie Bunker's niece on "All in the Family".

Here's the track list:
  1. Sir Duke
  2. Do-Re-Mi
  3. Muskrat Love
  4. In the Good Old Summertime
  5. Sunshine Medley
  6. Jamaica Farewell
  7. Getting to Know You
  8. Isn't She Lovely
  9. I Whistle a Happy Tune
  10. Good Morning Starshine
  11. Edelweiss
  12. High Hopes
NOTE: This is now available for purchase from Amazon! You can get it here:

Monday, March 01, 2010

Down in Jungle Town - The Yum Yum Kids and the MGM Territorial Orchestra

I'm back with this fun album from 1966. I've always liked these kinds of records that have kids enthusiastically singing their lungs out, and except for a couple of choices here, we've got a really interesting lineup of songs here as well. I mean, how often are you going to hear a Noel Coward song sung by children? There's some great text on the back of the album cover too, which I've provided in the download. Enjoy, and I'm pleased to say that it won't be another month before you see something else new here. I've got two more posts scheduled for later this week, so stay tuned!

Here's the track list:
  1. Hooray for Captain Spaulding
  2. I Went to the Animal Fair
  3. Mad Dogs and Englishmen
  4. Song of the Nairobi Trio
  5. Down in Jungle Town
  6. Napoleon Sailed the Ocean Blue
  7. Tiger Rag
  8. Aba Daba Honeymoon
  9. How to Tell the Wild Animals
  10. Under the Bamboo Tree
  11. Abdul the Bulbul Ameer
  12. Civilization
Click here to download!