Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Songs from the Motion Picture "Doctor Dolittle" - Connie Zimet, Steve Clayton and the Golden Singers

I'm back with an album of songs from the movie "Doctor Dolittle" (but I guess you figured that out from the title, huh?). As you can tell by looking at the tracks, that only applies to the first five songs here. The rest sound like they're from various sources. Now it's been a long time since I've seen the movie, so I don't know if there are more songs than that or not. Another thing I found interesting here is that this is the first time I remember specific singers out of the Golden Singers credited on the album. If you've heard very many of these (like I have), you will certainly recognize Zimet and Clayton's voices. It's nice that they got a little extra credit here.

Anyway, hope you like this!

Here's the track list:
  1. Talk to the Animals
  2. Doctor Dolittle
  3. Like Animals
  4. The Vegetarian
  5. My Friend the Doctor
  6. The Pokey Little Puppy
  7. The Tortoise and the Hare
  8. The Ugly Duckling
  9. Animal Fair
  10. Six Ducks
Click here to download!

Friday, June 11, 2010

Steve Allen and Jayne Meadows Present - For Children Only

Here's an album geared to children written and performed by famous host and songwriter Steve Allan and his wife, actress Jayne Meadows. Also along for the ride is "Bill", who I assume is their son. The songs are nice enough, but I think they'd sound a bit too sophisticated for my taste as a young'un. "You're a Muggedy-Wump" is cute, but the song "Color Blind" (while well-intentioned) is about as subtle as a wiffle bat to the skull. Anyway, hope you enjoy this!

Here's the track list:
  1. Why
  2. Upside Down
  3. You Never Get Tired of Love
  4. Funny Raindrops
  5. Furry Little Friend
  6. The Lonely Little Boy
  7. You're a Muggedy-Wump
  8. Merry-Go-Round
  9. Color Blind
  10. Little Man
  11. Strawberry Wine and Blueberry Candy
  12. Down in Sleepy Hollow
Click here to download!

Wednesday, June 09, 2010

Der Wienerschnitzel Presents - Up-Up and Away in My Beautiful Balloon

All right, maybe one of you can explain this to me. Why would the Der Wienerschnitzel restaurant put out an album by a mariachi band? (And this is the second one. The back cover mentions a previous one by this same nameless group as well.) This is an album of Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass-lite type music. In fact, Alpert and his band probably already performed their own versions of these as well. Most of the songs work pretty well here, but "The Sound of Music" doesn't really fit this style, does it?

Also, I can't say I know my artists that well, but does this cover sort of look like it was illustrated by Jack Rickard of Mad Magazine fame?

Here's the track list:
  1. Casino Royale
  2. Chili, Mustard and Kraut
  3. Sound of Music
  4. Georgy Girl
  5. Up-Up and Away
  6. I've Got Rhythm
  7. The More I See You
  8. Somewhere My Love
  9. Born Free
  10. Music to Watch Girls By
  11. Der Wiener Winner
Click here to download!

Monday, June 07, 2010

A Golden Treasury of Fairy Tales

Here's a variety of fairy tales, told by all the people listed on the front of this album cover (and likely taken from various and sundry sources). Unfortunately the record doesn't say who does which one, so I'll leave that up to you. I'm pretty sure that's Art Carney doing "The Ugly Duckling" though. Some of the stories are a bit short: "Jack and the Beanstalk" ends when Jack first finds the beanstalk outside his bedroom window. OK, technically they covered both Jack and the beanstalk in the story, but that's it? And I think it was a losing battle to try to tell the story of "Heidi" in the 5 1/2 minutes allotted to it!

And I just now figured out that that blob at the bottom of the cover is an out of focus close-up of a book. I thought it was a big fluffy cloud or something.

And I apologize for not having more stuff here last week. I thought I had a couple more scheduled. That's all right. That just means that there are two more albums set for this week! (I know because I just scheduled them for sure!)

Here's the track list:
  1. The Three Bears
  2. The Ugly Duckling - Art Carney?
  3. Hansel and Gretel
  4. Jack and the Beanstalk
  5. Little Red Riding Hood
  6. The Owl and the Pussycat
  7. Heidi
  8. The Tortoise and the Hare
Click here to download!

Tuesday, June 01, 2010

Tupperware 1981 Big Country Jubilee

Tupperware Tuesday concludes with this album from the 1981 Jubilee, my favorite of the three (or technically four if you count the circus themed Tupperware Jubilee album I posted a couple of years ago). I think this one is the best all-around show. It's the story of a Southern town, the good people there and the troubles caused by a money-hungry sheriff. In fact, if they ever did a "Dukes of Hazzard" musical, the song "Money Is the Root of All Evil" would be perfect for Boss Hogg.

Anyway, that's all the Tupperware Jubilee albums I've come across. I hope you've enjoyed them!

Here's the track list:
  1. Overture
  2. Country Music
  3. Goodtime Not a Lifetime
  4. Holdin' On to Love
  5. Hey, Good Buddy
  6. If You Do a Little Wrong
  7. Money Is the Root of All Evil
  8. We Can Never Be Friends
  9. A Bright New Shade of Red
  10. Big Country Jubilee
Click here to download!