Tuesday, November 07, 2006

"Welcome to the LBJ Ranch!" : The Robin-Doud Comedy Interviews

I actually like this one better than "Washington Is for the Birds". Instead of putting their voices to song (which, while funny, is a bit forced), this album does fake interviews using the politicians' real voices. Sort of like what Dickie Goodman did in songs like "The Flying Saucer", where he took pieces of popular songs and put them in an interview format with humorous results. Even if you aren't familiar with the politicians and what they did, this is very funny. And if you don't like it, in the words of Lady Bird Johnson, "That's all right."

Here's the track list:
  1. Introduction
  2. Interview: Pres. Dwight D. Eisenhower
  3. Interview: Senator Robert Kennedy
  4. Interview: President Lyndon B. Johnson
  5. The Tour: Mrs. Lady Bird Johnson
  6. Interview: Governor Nelson Rockefeller
  7. Interview: Vice Pres. Richard M. Nixon
  8. Interview: Senator Everett Dirksen
  9. Interview: Senator Barry Goldwater

UPDATE: I'm afraid I've been forced to remove my link, but you can buy this record from Amazon by clicking on the link below!


Anonymous said...

How about some Hudson & Landry albums??

Anonymous said...

This is a great page you have!

I'm impressed you know who Dickie Goodman was since, apart from being obscure in the first place, I wasn't sure how widely known (geographically) he was because his son worked at our local station for a few years and would play his dad's recordings periodically. :-)

waw5114 said...

Thank For This one my mother and Father had the LP but before I copied it I looked on google for it and found it here.
I'm a Dickie Goodman fan too been collecting his 45s for years.


Anonymous said...

I have this also, the mono pressing. I also have the first interview track on a comp album stereo pressing. But after all these years, I finally got a STEREO pressing of this album....& IT CONTAINS MORE STUFF. the Mono mix is EDITED!!!